SO HERE AND NOW

Conservative Political Views

WND by AARON KLEIN

WND Exclusive

Obama video: ‘Common ground’ good ‘for all people’

Advocated use of community organizing to bypass ‘unsympathetic’ courts

Published: 3 days ago

author-image by Aaron KleinEmail | Archive

Aaron Klein is WND’s senior staff reporter and Jerusalem bureau chief. He also hosts “Aaron Klein Investigative Radio” on New York‘s WABC Radio. Follow Aaron on Twitter and Facebook.More ↓
twitter icon Follow author rss feed Subscribe to author feed

In a 1995 video interview, Barack Obama advocated using an economic agenda to achieve a “common ground” that would be “good for all people.”

While Obama does not define what he means by “common ground” during that one interview, in another video interview from the same year, first exposed by WND last week, Obama specifically defined “common ground” as a society built on collectivism, including unions and collective bargaining.

Now Obama is seen speaking in 1995 on “Connie Martinson Talks Books,” which airs on public television. The future politician was promoting his just published book, “Dreams From My Father.” At the time, Obama was a community organizer planning to launch a political career.

Get your personally autographed copy of the New York Times bestseller “Fool Me Twice” exclusively from WND!

During a discussion about race relations, Martinson had asked Obama whether economics can be used to advocate liberalism.

“Liberalism seems to fly out the window when people are nervous about their economy,” Martinson contended.

Obama replied, “Um hm. Well, I think that that is true. What I do think, though, is that there is the possibility of building common ground around an economic agenda that would be good for all people.”

Just before those comments, Obama also advocated for using community organizing to bypass the U.S. court system while nudging for social change.

Obama explained it was increasingly difficult to bring employment discrimination lawsuits in civil-rights cases, claiming public-interest groups were “outgunned” and that the U.S. judiciary was “not sympathetic to the cause of civil rights.”

“Progress is probably not gonna come through the courts these days. We are not going to see a Brown vs. the Board of Education type of decision anytime soon.”

He continued: “What we are gonna have to do is to sort of work at the grassroots level and the community level and also rediscover some sense of mutual responsibility between black and white America if we are gonna make progress into the 21st century.”

In the interview with Martinson, Obama did not spell out what he means by using economics to build a “common ground.”

However, the politician used the same term in another interview about his book, defining his version of “common ground.”

During that Aug. 11, 1995, video exchange, Obama tells the interviewer the “best part” of the dream of his “African father and white American mother,” was the “notion that we collectively can decide on our fate.”

He added: “That things like technological change, things like mass media, things like the market are all subject to our control. That we can make decisions for better or for worse and continue to move forward and progress.”

Obama was asked whether the collective meant “us” or “those of us who own the major media and other corporate entities.”

He replied, “You know, I think in the end it does have to be a broad us. It has to be democracy with a small ‘d.’”

Obama explained what he meant by democracy, laying out a “common good” and “common ground” that includes unions.

“I think that recapturing the spirit that existed not just in the civil-rights movement but in the union organizing movement, in the populous movement. I think there is a running thread; one of the better angels of our nature in this country which has been the notion that, you know, we can sit around the table and find common ground and make democracy work in the way that it should be working.”

He continued, “It’s not popular right now to say that, and to believe in sort of a common good, but I think that notions of a common good are the glue that hold our society together and make democracy possible.”

The interviewer then asked Obama whether he is “willing to stake your political career on your common ground?”

“That’s the core of my faith,” Obama replied.                                                                                                                       Police Lineup–How many crooks can you see?

English: In January 2009, President of the Uni...

English: In January 2009, President of the United States of America, George W. Bush invited then President-Elect Barack Obama and former Presidents George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and Jimmy Carter for a Meeting and Lunch at The White House. Photo taken in the Oval Office at The White House. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

September 26, 2012 - Posted by | Here And Now | , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. It’s possible I’ve mistaken another’s comment for yours, but I think it came from words you used in one of your explanatory responses to me. On September 30, 2012, you said, “IN MY PUBLIC LIFE,. . . .” and I guess I jumped to a wrong conclusion. I sincerely apologize for my error. If I’d had to testify, under oath, to you saying you were a public figure, I would have apparently committed perjury! I thought perhaps it was in an email, but I couldn’t find any. Then I thought I may have gotten it from a different blog’s comment section, and the only reason I will continue to track it is because the memory is so clear in my mind, as well as to eliminate the horrible possibility that I’ve had a stroke?! Again, I’m truly sorry. I did not, however, make that claim to insult or demean you.

    Comment by duckyack | May 23, 2013

  2. AFTER THE NOVEMBER ELECTION, I MADE FULL ONLINE DISCLOSURE I AM Negro White-Supremacist.

    Aaron Klein’s VIDEO CLIP, “A BLACK MAN’S HATRED FOR OBAMA,” MADE ME REALIZE I NEED TO TELL EVERYONE ON THIS SITE ABOUT MY TRANSFORMATION.

    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | May 22, 2013

  3. “duckyack,”

    BELIEVE ME WHEN I TELL YOU, ” I have NO SHAME, whatsoever.” I HAVE NEVER TOLD YOU I WAS MAKING COMMENTARY COVERTLY. YOU ARE CONFUSING ME WITH SOMEONE ELSE.

    [I saw your October 2012 comment when I Googled my name - that is why I replied; I enjoyed our conversation last autumn].

    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | May 22, 2013

  4. Question–Why in the world are you hanging on to a conversation from September, 2012? Anyhow, yes, you did tell me that you are/were a public figure. You further stated that you had to keep your identity covert because your comments stem from a Conservative viewpoints and “people” wouldn’t like it.

    Comment by duckyack | May 21, 2013

  5. “duckyack” – I NEVER TOLD YOU I AM A PUBLIC FIGURE.
    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | May 20, 2013

  6. I thought you said you are a public figure and that it is necessary to hide your true identity. You also said that just to look at you, causes others, fear. Unless you have two heads, I wouldn’t know what that means.
    At least we agreee on one thing, and that is, we both respect for the opinions of others.

    Comment by duckyack | October 2, 2012

  7. “duckyack,”

    I RESPECT YOUR COMMENTS, BUT, I DISAGREE WITH EVERYTHING YOU SAID. EXTERNAL “HURT” AND INTERNAL “HURT” ARE TWO DIFFERENT THINGS.

    THE LIFE OF A CAUCASIAN WITH A PHYSICAL IMPAIRMENT CAN NOT BE COMPARED TO THE LIFE OF A PERSON OF COLOR.

    PEOPLE OF ALL RACES ARE WILLING TO HELP IMPAIRED PEOPLE OF ALL RACES. THE “HURT” IMPAIRED PEOPLE FEEL IS BASED ON A “Why me?,” MINDSET. BUT, THE GOVERNMENT, SOCIAL AGENCIES AND SOCIETY PROVIDE ASSISTANCE TO THE IMPAIRED.

    ON THE OTHER HAND, PEOPLE OF COLOR ARE REJECTED BY SOCIETY BECAUSE OF WHAT THE EYES CAN SEE – NO ONE WANTS TO HELP THEM. SO, THE “HURT” IS NO FAULT OF THEIRS. [BY THE WAY, I AM NOT ONLY TALKING ABOUT COLORED ADULTS; NEGRO CHILDREN ARE "SLAPPED IN THE FACE" WITH RACIAL BIAS AT THE ONSET OF PUBERTY. IN WEST MEMPHIS, ARKANSAS A FEW YEARS AGO AN ELEVEN-YEAR-OLD-NEGRO MALE WAS MURDERED BECAUSE LAW ENFORCEMENT WAS LOOKING FOR AN ADULT SUSPECT; SINCE THE ELEVEN-YEAR OLD HAD AN ADULT-SIZE BODY, THE POLICE THOUGHT THEY HAD "THEIR MAN." POLICE ALSO THOUGHT THIS ELEVEN-YEAR OLD HAD A GUN].

    “duckyack,” I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. I BELONG TO FOUR MINORITY GROUPS – I AM NEGRO, I AM ATHEIST, I AM HOMOSEXUAL AND I AM PHYSICALLY IMPAIRED.

    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | September 30, 2012

  8. Christopher, I have never said blacks no longer face discrimination. What I have said, at different times to different people, is that most everyone has experienced discrimination at least once in their life. There are people who are white who have suffered horribly throughout life due to birth defects, abuse, sexual assault, and every other type of atrocity man can perpetrate on another. Many of those people decide, at some point in their lives, that bitterness and hate saps energy, takes up free time with a head full of thoughts for revenge and clever things to say to those perpetrators, and it changes who you are. In other words, it changes who you would be if the negative emotions weren’t there. Please, stop assuming you know about a subject you clearly have not investigated. I’m referring your belief that I suffered less than you because I’m more white than you, or that whites discriminate less toward me than to you. Neither you, nor I can say that. And suffering is suffering. At the time a person is in the throws of pain, that pain is felt as severe as it gets regardless of the cause. When you compare your insides to another individual’s outside, your view is terribly scewed. My confidence in knowing people comes from forty years of education and field work experience regarding the human psyche. I’m retired now, due to an injury, but before that–if you watch TV cop shows, I would be the profiler. It was a more complicated and expanded job, but I think you understand what I’m saying. Because of all these years of experience I am able to make legitimate conclusions about others, when I have, more or less, enough information. There are really only six, or so, personality types, and each type is varied by the number and kind of differences each individual carries. All of us have more similarities than real dissimilarities. You are still young enough that you haven’t reached that point in life where you understand and accept that life is what it is. We all experience life differently, but when we hurt, we all hurt the same.

    Comment by duckyack | September 30, 2012

  9. “duckyack,”

    IN REFERENCE TO YOUR FIRST PARAGRAPH, WE ARE IN AGREEMENT.

    “duckyack,” YOU SAY I MAKE ASSUMPTIONS, BUT, YOU ARE THE ONE MAKING ASSUMPTIONS BY “TAKING-ON” CAUCASIANS’ VIEW THAT NEGROES NO LONGER FACE DISCRIMINATION. WHEN I WALK OUT OF MY FRONT DOOR, I IMMEDIATELY FACE RIDICULE AS A NEGRO MALE IN AMERICA.

    ALTHOUGH YOU ARE SIOUX, YOU RECEIVE EXPONENTIALLY BETTER TREATMENT BY CAUCASIANS.

    SURE – I LOVE OUR DISCUSSION, BUT, I MUST VIEW THE WORLD THROUGH NEGRO EYES. I AM A REPUBLICAN BECAUSE I HAVE A COMFORTABLE-FINANCIAL SITUATION. BUT, I AM STILL TREATED LIKE A HOMELESS PERSON WHO SLEEPS UNDER VIADUCTS. I AM NOT A “SUIT-AND-TIE” TYPE OF MALE. IF YOU WERE TO SEE ME, YOU WOULD PROBABLY THINK I AM ON WELFARE. MY MONEY IS MY BUSINESS – I DO NOT HAVE TO LOOK LIKE I AM DESERVING OF OTHERS’ RESPECT.

    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | September 30, 2012

  10. I disagree again. Do you remember, Joe, the plumber? He is the white man to said to Obama that he disagreed with his policy of redistribution of wealth–Obama and his crew ruined that man and made his life miserable–for disagreeing. I watched the video, and Joe was not rude or dismissive. I can’t say the same for Obama. This president doesn’t care for anyone, any color, that isn’t in his immediate circle of wealth and power. He despises us all.
    I really do wish you could find a way to stop adding fuel to a flame that should have been smothered a long time ago. I’m talking about assumptions. We all have to let go of bitterness, else we cannot move forward. That’s my two cents.
    Just one more thing, and it’s about the video. I did not think that any similarities between Obama and Davis supported the conclusion that one was the father of the other. However, you have to admit that if Davis is the father, it explains soooooo very much about Obama’s secrecy, sealed documents, and his spending millions of dollars to fight against said papers from being released. Those benign documents are typically of very little interest until a POTUS hides them! Do you have an idea as to why both the Obamas retired their law licenses? No one does that, and no other President has done so in the past!

    Comment by duckyack | September 29, 2012

  11. “duckyack,”

    YES – THERE ARE MANY CAUCASIANS IN NORTH-CENTRAL STATES – LIKE, OHIO – WHO HAVE NO JOB. BUT, THE KENYAN GOES “OUT OF HIS WAY” TO DIRECTLY INTERACT AND LISTEN TO THE ECONOMIC CONCERNS OF THESE CAUCASIANS.

    ON THE OTHER HAND, IN REFERENCE TO UNEMPLOYED NEGROES, THE EMBARASSING IMPOSTER SPEAKS OF PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY. SINCE Michelle IS FULL-NEGRO, I WILL CALL HER, First Lady of the United States of America. WHEN THE First Lady CAME TO MEMPHIS, ONLY THREE-HUNDRED PEOPLE SAW HER; METROPOLITAN MEMPHIS HAS A POPULATION OF ABOUT ONE MILLION. MEMPHIS CITY LIMITS IS MORE THAN EIGHTY-PERCENT NEGRO. The First Lady AND HER “no-good husband” ONLY TALK ABOUT “Black America,” WHEN THERE IS A POLITICAL ADVANTAGE TO DO SO.

    HOW MANY NEGROES IN THIS NATION CAN SAY, “I have shook the President’s hand.”? HOW MANY NEGROES CAN SAY, “I have talked to the President about my need for job.”?

    I GUARANTEE – WHEN THE KENYAN GIVES SPEECHES TO CAUCASIANS IN OHIO, MANY OF THOSE CAUCASIANS CAN ANSWER, “YES,” TO THESE TWO QUESTIONS.

    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | September 28, 2012

  12. Those sweeping statements, again! As I said before A LOT OF PEOPLE, OF ALL COLORS, ARE SUFFERING!

    Comment by duckyack | September 26, 2012

  13. THE KENYAN SAYS, “What we are gonna have to do is sort of work at the grassroots level … and also rediscover some sense of mutual responsibility between black and white America … ”

    REALLY? “GRASSROOTS?” BOTH THE KENYAN AND HIS WIFE HAVE BEEN TO MEMPHIS. MOST NEGRO MEMPHIANS DID NOT SEE HIM. THERE IS NO OUTREACH – WHATSOEVER – BETWEEN THE KENYAN AND THE NEGRO COMMUNITY. PERIOD. HE IS UTILIZING HIS “black face” AS A “BRAINWASHING TOOL;” NEGROES ARE “IN HIS BACK POCKET,” AND KISSING THE KENYAN’S ASS WITH “GUSTO!”

    MUTUAL RESPONSIBILITY? REALLY? NEGROES ARE SUFFERING AND HAVE NO JOB! HOW CAN NEGROES BE RESPONSIBLE WHEN THEY ARE, “BEGGING FOR BREAD.” NO! – THE KENYAN ONLY WANTS TO WORK WITH CAUCASIANS; DAMN!, THE “blacks!”

    PITIFUL!

    CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON

    Comment by CHRISTOPHER ALLEN HORTON | September 26, 2012


Leave a Reply

Sally's Special Services

Webmaster and Social Media Manager

Political Film Blog

money, power, injustice, sex, violence, propaganda, anti-fascism...

Constitutional Clayton

Politics surrounding the Constitution

mike884

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

swissdefenceleague

Swiss Defence League

the seaton post

A little bit of this and a little bit of that

Jericho777's Blog

Correcting Misinformation!

The Firewall

Whenever any form of government becomes destructive of these ends it is the right of the people to alter or abolish it

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,176 other followers

